Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2012
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing a MK VI soprano for 17 years, and now's the time for a curved horn.

Deliberating between the bronze Yanagisawa (992) and the italian horns.

Any tips before I go try 'em all out?

·
Registered
881 Posts
Cannot comment on the Italian horns, but I played a mk6 soprano for about 15 years and recently got a bronze yanagisawa SC992. It is a fantastic horn. Very nice size for travelling :) Intonation is good (but so is the mk6, I think). Keyboard is extremely tight and nice. A bit more resistance in the keys too (tighter springs perhaps?) compared to the selmer. The side-key for middle F# feels a little akward in the beginning but nice once you get used to it. All in all the keyboard feels excellent. Soundwise I think it is really top. It is difficult from a players perspective to compare curved versus straight due to the upward reflection of the sound, so it is difficult to say which actually sounds better from the audience, but I've been told it sounds "warm" for a soprano. From the player perspective I feel the sound is fresher from the SC992, but it may be the straigh vs curved issue. Soundwise, I think the SC992 may be a bit more "focused" in the sence, stronger fundamentals as compared to the harmonics. But, once you blow harder there is a really nice sparkling feeling to the sound. Somehow, this is a bit similar to my experience with a yanagisawa tenor T992, I wonder if it is the bronze thing or if it is the yanagisawa kind of construction of the horn that does this. Definitely great instruments, though.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
I agree with bjorn's post. My VI did not have the best intonation, though.