Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,073 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using Bam softpack cases for many years. I have had the same tenor Bam softpack case for twelve years that has seen a lot of travel and gig time. I also have a Bam softpack case for alto that has been used for four years and has many years ahead of it.

I am looking to buy a new Silver Series Yani alto in the near future. The case it comes with looks nice but I want to get another contoured case. So while shopping for cases online, I notice that a lot of top end brands expect us to put our necks in the bell. Besides wanting to use bell storage for other things, wouldn’t these companies want to provide maximum safe storage for the necks?? (Is the safest actually inside the bell?).

It seems like I would need to get another Bam Soft pack case or a Jacob Winter case to store my neck outside of the bell of my sax. Has anyone else noticed this and been frustrated by the offerings?

And would anyone have anymore recommendations for me? (Very safe contoured case with specialized neck slot)

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,885 Posts
The majority of (older the newer tend all to have one) contoured cases don’t have a neck slot, but there are many which do.

Protecs are indeed among these although in some instances you may have to slightly modify the receptacle. My super 20 tenor, for example, needs you to put a piece of foam in the part where the tenon fits.

I advised this, long ago, to Grumps who was facing the problem on how to fit his tenor in a Protec and he found this to be satisfactory. I have done this for many years.