Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello:
very old Continental Colonial clarinet that I recently acquired. I am trying to figure out which model it is and the era it was produced in. I am a novice when it comes to clarinets and would appreciate any input with the model and approximate value. I believe this was purchase used at Musicland here in Minnesota back in the 70's
Thanks,
Mike

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,452 Posts
A Vibrator reed! Don't play it - you'll be heartbroken because you'll never find another one.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
2,600 Posts
I don't know the maker, but you may have helped me come closer to identifying mine. I bought several metal clarinets off of Ebay years ago. Some were big name$ and others were oddball names. The one that I kept was the best player and probably worth the least because it didn't have a name. It appears to have had an oval decal on the bell at one point, but that is completely gone now. It looks like that is also what you have. The other distinguishing feature is the lip around the bell. Mine, like yours, is rolled out flat. Most every other metal clarinet, like saxophones, has that area rounded. My serial number is in the same place. My tuning barrel is the same (although the design is shared by some others).