Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a high school student who switched to 2.5 Hemkes a couple months ago. They're actually pretty consistent, and I like their sound, but they take a little while to warm up, and their "play life" doesn't seem to last quite long enough.

I think part of this is my fault, as I've also gotten a new horn and mpc recently and probably didn't give the reeds enough break-in time, but being a student requires me to do that sometimes. They also warp quite easily, although this might be the strength and not the brand.

Anyway, just about everything I've heard about reeds contradicts something else I've heard, to the point that I'm tempted just to pick some at random and see what happens. And, as they say, the grass is always greener on the other side, so perhaps I'm better off just sticking with Hemkes a while longer?

I've heard a lot of good things about Alexander Classiques (when they work, at least), but without a local dealer, and with their high prices, that would be an expensive experiment.

Regardless, I'd be thankful if anybody could recommend a reed that:
-Is fairly consistent. Not all have to be winners, but it'd be nice if none sucked.
-Is relatively cheap.
-Is ready to go out of the box, without sacrificing tone.
-Doesn't warp too much.

One reed I found, the Rico Reserve Classic, seems to fit that criteria, but of course i haven't played it. I know I'm probably gonna end up wasting some amount of cash trying out different brands and sizes to sate my curiosity, but any input that might help me narrow my choices down is appreciated.

·
Registered
480 Posts
I used to use Hemke's, but the life was just too short. They sounded great right out of the box, but I couldn't afford to go through reeds that fast.

Everyone is going to recommend different brands and thicknesses. The only way to find what works for you is to try different brands.