Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a noob. Please forgive any mistakes I may make. I am looking at a Conn USA shooting stars on the bell Serial # 11364 for $250.00. I cant find any info on this s# series. Is it worth buying? Good condition normal laquer wear. Just been serviced. No letter prefixes. thanks for the help.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
18,497 Posts
It could be one of the early 50M's which were actually made from the bodies of the Vito Specials, thus the serial numbers on them were Vito, Kenosha serial numbers (although the factory was in Nogales, AZ; which Conn bought in around '62-'63).

These had the F# trill keys which looked like a LH palm key. If the one you speak of has that sorta key, there you have it.

Once Conn used up all the leftover Vito bodies, they kept the machining and body design and just started using the letter-prefix Conn sequences. They changed a few things on the keywork (such as the F# trill key). But they didn't change much, really.

They are good.

$250 for one in good shape is a darn good deal, I usually sell them for $400-450.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
873 Posts
Yep, early 50M from 1962. Looks to be relacquered, which isn't a surprise since these earliest ones seem to be found with their lacquer in terrible condition more often than their contemporaries.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I went ahead and got me a king zephyr 328xxx. I gave 200 and a tv I wasnt using anymore. It needs some work. The f key doesnt spring up very good. How much does it usually cost to get these rebuilt?

·
18,497 Posts
Nice deal, there, assuming it has no significant damage.

Hard to answer your Q. You could bring it someplace and they could quote $1200...or you could bring it someplace and they could tell you $200.

Where are you located ? Do you have a relationship with a repair tech locally ?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7