Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I'm looking at a vintage Conn 10M, and I'm new to the vintage horn market. I loved playing it but have a couple concerns. First I know the C# key has been discussed ad nauseum but not by me. I'm used to modern fingerings: Is this easy to get used to. I'm in an R&B band and tend to play a lot of bass riffs which means getting on and off that key a lot. Second what's the issue with the little tightening screws? How do they work and do you need to mess with them a lot. If so what tool do you use or do you have to take them in. The the keys just work loose over time?

Anyway if these technical issues have been discussed a lot before, but I'd appreciate your feedback. On a more aesthetic note, I loved the sound and feel of the horn. I was amazed at how verstaile it was with a couple different MPc. I could get an edgy sound with a high baffle and great resonant sound with my Link. It's amazing how they hold up over 60 years!

·
Banned
184 Posts
The C# key tends to be oversprung by techs who aren't used to working on 10Ms, or are sloppy and impatient. One issue is that the C# spring is really fiddly to adjust because of its location right next to the C# key arm. The other issue is getting the G# lever in sync with the C# key so that the spring on the G# lever supports the C# key all the way to its closed position. If that isn't done, extra tension on the C# spring is necessary to prevent bounce and flutter, which makes the C# key heavy. So the tech needs some combination of having their moves down and patience to get it set up right. But if it is set up right, it doesn't need to be heavy. Also, the clearance between the arm beneath the B key touch that actuates the G# key off the C# key is critical. If there isn't enough, pressing the B key will open the C# key. So check out all of that action and make sure that whoever works on that pinky table is on the ball.