Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Just joined the forum and this is my first post. I have been browsing for a few years and have found a lot of useful information.

Now to the reason for my post. I just purchased a Conn New Wonder II at a local auction today. In remarkable shape for the age. Even the case is in good shape.
I will be sending it to Les Arbuckle next month for a complete mechanical overhaul.
It was a small country auction and was able to purchase for $220.00.

It is somewhat playable as is but the pads are shot. No damage at all and the finish is still really good.

Steve

Attachments

Distinguished SOTW Member
Steve: Welcome to SOTW - and congrats on the Conn alto. If that horn plays half as well as my NWII soprano, you'll have a keeper. DAVE

Registered
Discussion Starter #5
Steve: Welcome to SOTW - and congrats on the Conn alto. If that horn plays half as well as my NWII soprano, you'll have a keeper. DAVE
I am able to get some upper register notes out of it and am impressed with the sound. To much leakage for anything in the low register. Sound pretty amazing. Can't wait until I get it re-padded.

Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
I am able to get some upper register notes out of it and am impressed with the sound. To much leakage for anything in the low register. Sound pretty amazing. Can't wait until I get it re-padded.
They're bright and lively horns, on par with my preferred VI's. That's a great find, and you'll absolutely love it after the overhaul.

Registered
Yep, it dates from 1927. It looks in very good nick, too. I'm betting it's been on top of a wardrobe for years and wouldn't be surprised if it still has its original 90-year-old pads. Well worth repadding, especially given the price you got it for. They're great horns. I've got one myself: it's got a really BIIIIIIG sound. Enjoy it !

Registered