Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In about 1977 my parents purchased me a used Conn alto sax. It has the "Shooting Star" design on the bell but my question is the serial number is N-33843. Can anyone tell me anything about this horn. It served me well through 7th grade band till I graduated in 1983.

·
Administrator
13,985 Posts
The so called "Shooting Star" is in fact Conn's student "DIRECTOR" 14M model, not the rare, pro artist Connstellation 28M C. the mid 20th century.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,962 Posts
Did your folks buy it for you brand-new, or was it used ?

I ask because a few of use here are trying to pinpoint the N serial #'s a bit more accurately than current online charts indicate.

These can be solid players. Market value for one in good playing shape is around $300-350. Does it read "Mexico" undr the serial #? Can you post a photo ?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It was purchased as a used horn. My uncle had purchased it for his daughter to play and she decided she did not like band. I do not know if he purchased it new or used but I strongly suspect he purchased it used as well. I believe he purchased it around 1970 - 1972.

There is nothing under the serial number. The SN is located on the back under the neck strap hook. I will look again more closely to be sure. I will post a photo in the next day or so.

I appreciate your questions to lead me in the right direction. I'm beginning to think that it might be a "Mexiconn" as SAXISMYAXE stated or one of the last made in the US before moving production to Mexico.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
The ones made in the States usually say CONN USA somewhere on them. And the Mexican version usually has Mexico on it. The N is the 1969-1970 manufacture date, I believe. Either way, it is a "Director" model. These are extremely common but usually well-made student horns.

·