Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I've had a C melody sax for about 20 years now, although I've never played it much to be honest.

When I started learning sax in 5th grade, my aunt, being the awesome aunt she is, gave me a sax because she never used it, and said I could have it and take it to play in the band at school. Well I took it to school and started playing with it and my teacher told me to get it checked/serviced because he was convinced my "alto" was broken. I simply could not get it to play in tune. I only discovered it was a C melody once I took it in for servicing.

I know it's a Conn (that's obvious from the bell), and I'm sure it's old, but other than that I really couldn't say.

If anyone could pitch in and help that would be appreciated. I've attached some photos, and the serial info is very clear.

I've also read that cases/mouthpieces can be a bit of an issue for these horns, so suggestions as to set up would also be highly appreciated.

Thanks all!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
That's a nice looking saxophone. 1920's but you should check a serial number chart for the exact year. I trust it has a neck. It is also the desired LOW PITCH (as opposed to HIGH PITCH, which won't play alongside most other instruments these days).

The best mouthpieces are those made for C-Melody saxophones like yours, but some have been known to get along with alto or tenor mouthpieces, which may create intonation and tonal issues.

There is already a ton of posts on SOTW about C-Melody saxophones. Search for them and read about them. DAVE

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
This instrument dates from 1923.

Youll find further discussion, including discussion of mouthpieces and cases, in the current, active thread, HERE.

·
Administrator
13,985 Posts