Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all-

My buddy and I just went halvesies on an old Conn bari from eBay (or eFlay, if you prefer) as a project horn. I've been out of the loop for so long, I have a bunch of questions about it.

1) What model is it?: It's definitely a MexiConn, since it clearly say Mexico below the serial number, but I don't really know Conn model names at all. It's got a low A. And what does the "shooting stars" engraving look like. *I* wouldn't cal this "shooting stars".

2) What year?: The serial number is N 876xx. I looked at the recent thread on Conn serial numbers; I'm not getting in the middle of *that*!

3)Replacement case?: The case is just about totaled. My partner (my friend Mark) went ahead and ordered an SKB flight case, but the Conn profile didn't fit. I'm thinking the same will be true of the J. Winter case he's ordered next.

4) *Suggestions* on m'piece, reeds, etc.: My background is playing bari in High School on a low Bb Mark VI with a Berg Larsen m'piece (sorry, don't remember the chamber; shoot, that was 30 years ago!), and a variety of reeds, sometimes Rico 4s for jazz band, sometimes LaVoz or Vandorens for concert band/wind ensemble.

5) Since I'm supposed to be the one fixing this up, I need some help with a couple of parts; I'm pretty sure I can get the low c# key guard from Allied, but the high f lever is missing, as is the threaded post (and the screw, but I can probably manage that). Anyone have any help? Pads and such shouldn't be a problem.

If anyone wants to see what I got, here's the eBay link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...QbRur58%3D&viewitem=&sspagename=STRK:MEWNX:IT

TIA for any input!

Geoff

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #2