Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at a Conn 6m tenor, and the guy says the serial number is 816808, when would that have been made? My best guess is late 60's, early 70's. Also, what would this thing be like as far as keywork, intonation, and "features" be like. I know it would't have rolled tone holes or that micro-tuner, but will the octave key still be underslung?

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician
3,408 Posts
More late '50's early '60's BTW 6M is ALTO 10M is TENOR you have me a little confused. These are great players and the alto(6M) should certainly have the u/slung o/key.
Keys will be nickel plated--very much in keeping with the times I have a very late 6M u/slung --no Ladyface--and it smokes, great intonation too.

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, that's what's got me confused, I thought that 6m was an alto as well, but I'm no Conn expert... I'm going to ask the seller for some pictures, if he's confused, I can tell the difference, expert or not!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,074 Posts
Should be 1959 and with the underslung octave key. This should have the wire guards rather than the stamped ones. Should be a decent horn worth about $300-700 depending on pads and finish.

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I do have one last question about the thing, should it have rolled tone holes, and, if not, should I be concerned? Hearing that it's a '59 makes me feel a lot better, I'm looking for an American horn. It'd be replacing my YTS 23, and used with an old E-Rosseau mouthpiece I'm rather fond of. I need a horn with a bit bigger sound than the Yamaha, although I do like the keywork on Yamaha's, a lot.

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician
3,408 Posts