Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently just started playing tenor again as I've been playing alto for about 30 years. I have been playing on HR pieces my whole life and would like to try a link STM for my new tenor persuits. I dont have a bunch of cash so thought I would take a gamble on a modern metal Link STM. However, there are several different models and I am a bit confused as to what the differences are and would like some clarification. The ones I have seen on WWBW and similar sites are as follows. Otto Link STM (regular), Otto Link NY STM, Otto Link FL STM, Otto Link FL 100th anniversary, Otto Link Vintage STM.

I could use some guidance on the differences in these pieces?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,430 Posts
We had one member very happy with his #6 NY recently.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If I understand correctly the NY has a slightly larger chamber and has a darker tone that the regular STM? Where does that put the FL and the new Vintage ToneMaster? brighter, darker, .....there has to be some sort of difference I assume?

I believe I discovered the FL and the 100th anniversary FL are the same thing.

·
Registered
3 Posts
On my tenor I play an hard rubber regular otto link. It doesn’t “pop”, which pissed me off at beginning, but still plays very well to me, who am not that greatly skilled sax player

·
Administrator
17,277 Posts
If I understand correctly the NY has a slightly larger chamber and has a darker tone that the regular STM? Where does that put the FL and the new Vintage ToneMaster? brighter, darker, .....there has to be some sort of difference I assume?

I believe I discovered the FL and the 100th anniversary FL are the same thing.
This is the sequence from darker to brighter sounding:

- Otto Link New Vintage TM
- Otto Link NY STM
- Otto Link STM (regular)
- Otto Link FL STM (same as Otto Link FL 100th anniversary)