Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, maybe this is something other sax players have encountered whilst learning to play so I thought I'd post.

I'm a beginner learning since last September so about 7 months, before I began learning I didn't have a musical bone in my body and learning sax is my first instrument. I have a really great teacher and thanks to him, I've learnt more than I thought possible and can even read music now and love learning it.

I've always wanted to play sax and tried to learn four years ago but stopped after about six weeks because everyone in my house at the time said that I sounded 'repetitive and annoying' I was so disheartened that I stopped.

Lockdown happened and I thought, I'm gonna finally learn! its been going great so far and I really love it and never wat to stop playing for the rest of my life now.
The issue is I think I've lost a bit of confidence lately with it, I lived with friends who were super great to put up listening to me play at the beginning especially when I hadn't a clue how to play anything but we recently got evicted and had to move house, when we were leaving our street we let a few neighbours know in the local WhatsApp and a neighbour replied with 'if its the house with the saxophone player, good riddance' and then a few other neighbours chimed in to agree, it seemed like a funny joke at the time but since that I just feel so self conscious playing and my practice has gone from practicing every day (a few times a day if I could) to maybe once or twice a week but I'm too busy thinking about other people hearing me that I barely think about what I'm playing or enjoy it.
I've moved to a new house and my new housemates are very nice and don't mind that I play but still I feel too shy and self conscious to play if they are home. I tried muffling the sound with socks but it didn't help.