Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,452 Posts
You're right - you can't fight reeds - they will win. I carry at least four reeds and start with one at random when getting ready to play. Typically I will have to try at least another one for the gig. The next time, that first reed might be great. I don't even mark the good ones anymore because the next time you will wonder why you put that mark on this dog reed.

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
Pssh...you think you were a reed nerd? Try talking to an oboist or bassoonist! I lived with a symphony-caliber oboist while in undergrad and he was a reed FREAK. He'd brew his tea like a mad scientist and then hole-up in his room for an entire evening listening to Mahler and making reeds with the loving devotion and focus of a neurosurgeon. Granted, he now plays for a major symphony.

Me? I've been playing sax for 20 years and have been on both sides of spectrum: extreme reed geek to over-casual "throw it away if it doesn't work" guy. Now, I buy a box of 10 of my favorite reeds and play one at a time. I can generally tell before putting the reed on the mouthpiece how's it going to play, and they usually fall into one of three camps: (1) Great reed! A miracle!; (2) This one needs a little break-in but is gonna be a player; or (3) This reed is stuffy crap. If I'm on a gig, 1s and 2s get used immediately and 3s go back into their holder. I write "P" on the holder of the category 3 reed to remind me that that reed is for practice only. Personally, I can't imagine trying to keep track of eight reeds in rotation.