Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I am a bass guitarist and double bass player, but for a while now I have been really longing to get hold of and learn the bass clarinet. It has got to the point where the need is really quite insatiable and listening to Eric Dolphy play the beast is not enough.

As it is I have read quite a lot on the net and researched various brands quite thoroughly but my practical experience is yet to occur. My budget is pretty low and I'm looking to spend no more than $700 on my first horn, but I'm confident that if that money is well placed I can get something more than satisfactory.

If anyone has any pearls of wisdom on the first bass clarinet I should have a look at let me know and I shall be extremely grateful!

Jamie

·
Forum Contributor 2011, SOTW's pedantic pet rodent
8,322 Posts
"Pearl of wisdom" no.1: Don't be tempted by something very cheap that is made of wood. It will almost certainly be knackered.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,828 Posts
i was quite fortunate! when i got my bass clarinet,i have a conn" which is down to low E! a short bass!, but its got enough to entertain for sure!these basses are excellent but you dont often see them around,bundys are worth looking at and the price maybe a lot better!, but you may need to have some work done on them also,i agree that, be careful when buying a bass clarinet, you want to spend a fair price as it s hard to get cheap bargains!..

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
"Pearl of wisdom" no.1: Don't be tempted by something very cheap that is made of wood. It will almost certainly be knackered.
So basses made of plastic are better? Or is it as simple as old wood is not worth the risk?

If anyone can enlighten me, what materials are generally regarded as the best?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5