Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to read my post!

I have been playing the Alto Sax for about 4 years, currently on the Yas200ad.

I am interested in upgrading horns, but i would like to know your guys' opinions!

I like Yamahas, but my friends reccomend Yanagisawas, specifically the A991. At Kesslers music the a991 is $3249 (2/16/10). Is this a fair price for a new instrument, and why?

I am open to many different Alto Sax's, and please if you can, reccomend
me a good alto sax, a fair price for a new instrument, and why you think this would be a good instrument for
me, that would be great and extremely helpful!

Also, i still play on a 4c Yamaha mouthpiece, if you could reccomend a good mouthpiece, reed, that would be great!

Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
1,381 Posts
Well you're getting a big 4 horn still. Yanis have different keywork, not radically so, but it is subtle, especially the palms. The metal may be a bit thicker, but they are structurally similar and both good. They both have modern sounds, so basically neutral if not a shade bright. Check out Steven Howard's review of the 992: http://www.shwoodwind.co.uk/Reviews/Saxes/Alto/Yanagisawa_992_alto.htm

If your gonna buy an Asian horn check out Barones. Third the price, more character in the sound for me with my big-bore Vintage model. www.philbarone.com

As for mouthpieces and reeds go, well, what direction do you wanna go with your sound? Bright, dark, edgy, smooth, buzzy, etc? Post a sound or Youtube link and we'll help ;)

Welcome to the forum!

P.S. - A new mouthpiece and reed combo will ultimately take you further tonewise than any horn will, do start near the mouth whenever upgrading. I only say to change horns if there are annoying subtleties tonally or the ergonomics and keywork get in the way. But that's just me.....

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·