Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - newbie here from the UK. I'm actually a guitarist who has a healthy obsession about the 50's r'n'b sax style (why don't folk sound like that anymore!?) - particularly the recordings of Bill Doggett, Red Prysock, and any that feature Plas Johnson, King Curtis, Steve Douglas etc.

Gotta say it, but my favourite all time Tenor Sax man is Clifford Scott - I still have the Parlophone 78rpm of Honky Tonk pts I + II which my Father bought back in '56 - i've since collected a whole heap of Doggett recordings on 78rpm, 45rpm, LP etc...which brings me to my first question.

Years ago, I remember seeing a reference to a couple of Clifford Scott solo LP's that were recorded about 1958/59.

So.

Can anyone confirm this?

Secondly, is there a comprehensive list of Clifford's session recordings? - I know he played with many different people from Bill Doggett, Freddie King to James Brown......

thanks

1Dawg.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
2,892 Posts
1Dawg, our resident rock 'n roll expert is John Laughter; if anybody knows, John does. You out there, John?......:)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,007 Posts
While you're waiting for a comprehensive answer ...

I really love Clifford's solo on "Hippy Dippy" with Bill Doggett. It's on alto and seems just right somehow.

I got Curtis Swift to transcribe it: http://www.saxsolos.com/

And Curtis has also got transcriptions of Honky Tonk Parts I and II.

All the best

Rhys

·
SOTW Columnist/ Forum Contributor 2014, Disti
2,787 Posts
1Dawg, here is some info and sites which may be of some help. When it comes to the additional seesions that he played on I have never found a lot of info.