Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing clarinet in a Dixieland band for about 3 years and I recently switched to sop sax simply in order to be better heard over the other "horns". The feedback from the group was good but I would rather find a way to have a "louder" clarinet sound, in order to maximize that sound and to take advantage of the greater range (e.g., low E vs Bb).

I'm playing an R13 (made ca. 1959) that I've owned since the mid 60s. It's great for orchestral music but, perhaps, limited for jazz. So I'm wondering if the solution to this problem is a new mpc or a new clarinet -- and, in either case, which one?

Suggestions?

KM

·
Registered
976 Posts
My R13, purchased used in 74, wailed, but when i traded it to WWBW couple of yrs ago, was giving me intonation trbls. But it breathed. The brashest mpc I have is a Brilhart, but sharp. I played Morgans for yrs, but flat. JB5 for awhile,but dark. B45 lyre, with plastic LeBlanc clar. now. Bright with range.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,312 Posts
I play a Morgan J6 on my stick (Leblanc LL). Has plenty of volume and punch. Intonation is good. Also maybe check out the Pomarico jazz models. They play nice and the crystal looks cool.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2009-
2,759 Posts
A Selmer Centered Tone or Series 9, maybe a Boosey and Hawkes — these have larger bores and are often preferred for jazz. But in conversations with Dr. Michael White (who plays an L. Rossi), he pretty much said it was the player, not the instrument, not the set up. An open mouthpiece will help with tonal effects but there's something about having a really strong core sound and letting that sing through the horn.

·
Registered
8,975 Posts