Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!
I am a composer. I write a piece and in the woodwind section I need a glissando effect.
I have read about the glissando and portamento in Phillip Rehfeldt's book but I don't understand really.
The lip portamento I understand, it is bending down or up.

But what about the glissando with the coordination between the lip and fingers?

Look at the flute example:

And my question is: is it possible on the clarinet something like this:

What are the possibilities on the clarinet?? Between which notes are the glissandos possible without break, both up and downwards?

Thank you!!!!!

·
Registered
88 Posts
May be a little tough over "the Break" between A2 and B2(you could use the side key B(alt). The last glissando to A2 will be the toughest...messing with it now to see if I can get it out

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
It's done exactly the same as on an open hole flute. The best example is the clarinet introduction of Rhapsody in Blue. It's a combination of lip, throat and sliding fingers.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you a lot.
The Rhapsody in Blue is the most quoted glissando technique on the Internet. I tried to find another glissando, but no, only Gershwin!

Frankly, is it possible to play that Gershwin glissando - backwards, slowly?? From the top, down to the bottom?

Another thing: is it any difference in playing gliss on Clarinet Picc Eb, A and Bass Bb??

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
just for historical accuracy, the clarinet gliss was played by Russ Morgan, the virtuoso with Paul Whiteman's band. He played it during a dress rehearsal as a joke and Gerswhin liked it and they used it on the premiere performance and forever afterwards. It was not in his original score.

Clarinetist with Whiteman was Ross Gorman -sorry too early for me to send post but the names are close.

·
Registered
1,675 Posts
Thank you a lot.