Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm a senior in HS and I'm looking for for colleges that have good music programs, I live in california but don't mind going out of state. I wan't to major in performance, or possibly music ED. Here is a list of school that I might apply to, the list is big and I need to knock a few off. It consists of some of the top sax schools and others as back ups. Any others I may want to consider? I have a 4.0 with average SAT scores and study with David Henderson, Sax Prof. at University of the pacific.

In State:
University of the Pacific
San Diego State
USC
UCLA
CSULB
CSUSJ

Out of state:
University of Michigan
Oberlin
University of Indiana
University of Minnesota
New England conservatory
University of Oregon

·
Registered
138 Posts
Hello-

I'm a freshman sax performance major at UCLA.

I applied to several of those schools...UOP, USC, UCLA, and Indiana. I know nothing about music at San Diego State. I've heard that CSULB and CSUSJ have solid programs, and I know that CSU Sacramento does. I studied with the professor at CSU Sacramento for a long time, and I'd really suggest looking into that too. Also check out CSU Northridge. I've heard music there isn't bad either.

As for more out of state big saxophone schools, Northwestern and Ithaca College are two more.

I don't see a reason not to <i>apply</i> to all those schools. However, if you want to audition at every single one of them that could get a little difficult. But it would help to do something like do all the SoCal schools in one trip. Applications can get somewhat expensive, but flying to that many out of state auditions could get quite pricey as well. Not to mention tiring...

But it's definitely better to have too many than not enough.

And if you have any specific questions about UCLA, just send me a PM.

Good luck!

Andrew

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,147 Posts
Western Michigan (Trynt Kynaston)