Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HEY EVERYBODY AT SAX ON THE WEB!!!
I'm Sam and I have a question/problem: I started playing tenor a year ago (been playing alto sax since 5th grade in 11th grade now and for my bar mitzvah I bought myself a YAS-62II alto) and ive been renting so far, but i think i really want to buy myself a quality tenor. Now i have a couple of things that anyone who is going to be giving me advice needs to consider:

1. I LOVE LOVE LOVE dark, warm and fuzzy, melodic sound.
1a) I am obsessed with the cool jazz era...that means cats like stan getz, paul desmond, LESTER YOUNG (best saxophone player the world has ever seen), warne marsh, gerry mulligan, all those guys.

2. As such, i wish to emulate them so I want a saxophone that does that...this is my primary goal in finding a saxaphone.

3. I play in a combo AND a school big band and while i am assuming most horns will play well in either soloing or big band im just letting you know what im playing in.

4. So far there are a couple of horns that I have researched a little and think are good...SBA (super balanced action), Mark VI (most regard this as a mother of saxes and stan getz played one of them) and i just heard about this RS berkeley virtuoso line...I am very open to other suggestions though, i'm not totally knowledgable about picking a saxophone (I dont even have a specific mouthpiece yet XD)

5. Obviously i wont find a good tenor for less than $2000 but keep in mind i AM a student in high school so i can't afford $10,000 dollar saxes.

Thanks in advance for advice...hopefully you can help me.
Thanks,
Sam

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009
3,286 Posts
Sam -- of course you CAN find a good tenor for less than $2000. No problem. I play a 1954 The Martin tenor. Well known for dark, smoky, old-school sounds. Very good examples in good condition are easily available for under $2000 regularly.