Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I've been playing saxophone - mainly tenor - for 7 years, and would like to learn bass clarinet too. I'll have a chance of trying out and possibly buying one sometime this week from my sax tech in Czech Republic.

I know I can trust him, but I'd like to know what are the things to watch out for when choosing, like E/B intonation (that's like low D / middle D on saxophone, right?), register key mechanism (double vent better that single vent), etc.

As my parents would be buying it for me as a birthday present, I can't spend over 700€ (perhaps a bit far on the cheap side for a bass clarinet...), 1000€ if it's good enough to justify selling my alto saxophone, which I do intend to replace with a nice vintage sax next year, and stick with tenor in the meantime.

I'd really like a metal bass clarinet, but they're rare. Hard rubber is nice, plastic is ok. I don't want a wooden one, because I intend to play outdoors a
lot. In Belgium. I guess it wouldn't survive very long.

When I spoke with my tech two or three months ago, he had a very nice, 70-year-old wooden bass which was way over my price range, but he told me he'd probably have a resin Selmer later on - not sure what type of resin, nor which Selmer, but at 16000 CZK (620€ / 890$), I guess it's just a Bundy - or could it be anything else?

Assuming it actually is a bog-standard Selmer Bundy (USA) bass clarinet (I've heard they haven't changed a lot over time, is that right?), and that it is in good condition, well adjusted:
* Is the aforementioned price good?
* Would it be a good enough instrument to play on, or should I wait till I find something better?
(Not sure what good enough is. If I were searching for a saxophone, I guess 'good enough' would be at some point between my Amati alto sax and my Selmer SA80II tenor. Not much help, is it?)