Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,877 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this but my cheap leak light shows a small chip on the high D tone hole right near the pad. Repair guys have told me this should not really effect anything because it's so small, but it really does (I think). Something is very off with my sax- the octave D2 to D3 sucks. . BTW, it's an American made Conn M21. Is the some way to fix this? It seems like a small bit of solder would do the trick, Thanks in advance.
Kent

·
Distinguished SOTW Columnist/Official SOTW Guru
3,764 Posts
Can you post a pic? If it's leaking, it's going to have an effect. If it's infinitesimally small, the repair guy may be right, but I'm guessing that if you can see the leak and notice a chip in the chimney, it's got to be large enough to make it worth fixing. If it's not a massive chip, it'll be a pretty simple fix but I'm really guessing without a pic.

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
... I'm guessing that if you can see the leak and notice a chip in the chimney, it's got to be large enough to make it worth fixing...
I agree.

I have used a soldering gun (+ added flame heat if necessary) to fill such "chips" with lead-free (approx 95%tin, 5% silver) solder. (It resists corrosion far better and is about twice as strong as lead solder.)

·
Distinguished Technician & SOTW Columnist. RIP, Yo
17,204 Posts
The "chip" may actually be a split in the seam where the body was brazed together from a sheet of metal. In that spot the brazing could not cope with the drawing of the tone hole.

·
Distinguished SOTW Technician
2,547 Posts
An easy way to test whether it makes a difference is to fill the chip with superglue.
Use the gel type.