Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As an absolute beginner I'm seriously considering purchasing a Gear4Music tenor in the near future.

I've read the threads on Chinese horns and understand the risks involved. I'd therefore like to get the instrument checked over and set up within the initial approval period by someone competent, honest and fairly open-minded on the subject of ultra-cheap Chinese saxes (I appreciate that it's a contentious issue with some strongly-held views on all sides).

Can anyone recommmend someone in the North West of England (Manchester / Warrington) or further afield?

Thanks in advance,

Frank

·
Registered
249 Posts

·
Registered
1,293 Posts
Of these, I only know John at the Woodwind Workshop (actually in Johnny Roadhouse's shop on Oxford Road). Absolutely first class.

·
Registered
427 Posts
Music shops with any sort of selection are thin on the ground up here.

It depends on the sort of budget you have and how dedicated you are to learning.
There are a couple of options, you could hire a new student model from a reputable supplier, they will usually deduct the hire charges if you later decide to purchase. If you decide to jack it in you are only out the hire charges.

ebay is a source of second hand and nearly new tenor saxophones (and some rubbish) where people have bought them and then decided shortly afterwards that "they haven't the time to practice" (translation: they usually can't hack it) and want to sell.

I'd been learning to play my alto for a year when I decided to also buy a tenor.
I studied the market on ebay for a while and bought such a second-hand tenor for around £160 which was in excellent condition and later sold it for a 25% profit.
If you walk into Dawsons or Forsyths in Manchester, they'll have some Trevor James saxes. These often come up ebay. They are supposed to be a reasonably good student instrument.