Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have been playing sax for 3 years. I think now is a good time for me to upgrade my setup. I will be purchasing new sax, and would like new gear to match it. The sax I will likely get is a YANY A901.

In the mpc setup, I would like a dark sound, a bit darker, but just as jazzy as Eric Darius. I don't know his setup, however. I have done a bit of reading, and think that a hard rubber, close tip mpc(preferably with a flat/no baffle) will get me where I want.

The problem is, I don't know where to look, and my budget is at most $150, but am trying to get to $100. What do you recommend for a dark, rich tone? It doesn't have to be what I have thought of, as long as it gives me the desired tone.

P.S. My reeds are Vandoren Traditional 3's and 3 1/2's, I currently use a stock plastic mpc with it's ligature. Both are unmarked. The sax comes with a metal mpc, but I have no details on it.

Thanks, MB

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
6,831 Posts
Well, the A901 is among my all-time personal favorite Altos! Big, fat sound, tends nicely to versatility, and with a lot of "body" to the tone. Pair it with the right mouthpiece, and you'll never "hit a wall" in the tone or volume department!

Now, what mouthpiece? Many would say a Meyer for the classic sound you appear to be after. And for your smalm budget, and relative newness, you can't go wrong with a VanDoren. Consistently built, and on Alto, built similar to a Meyer, with far better consistency!

·
14,287 Posts
A lot of what you are after comes from the player and not the mouthpiece. One reason to view mouthpiece recommendations as being inconsequential is because every one of us play mouthpieces differently. What is dark for me may be bright for you. DARK is subjective anyway and what may sound dark to one person may not sound dark to another.