Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I just started playing a B&M Champion Tenor Sax a few days ago (except some trials before that) and it's working pretty well.
The only thing is that I'm not 100 % lucky about the MPC / reed combination.

I know that questions about MPCs for beginners are asked a lot and it seems that everyone suggests to try out several but my question is more about wether to change the MPC or the reed.
The sax included a MPC from Weltklang (the sax is a Weltklang Solist Stencil) and has a tip opening of 2 mm, tip facing is about 18 mm.

It came with reeds in size 1.5 from Rico.
Since I regularly had problems with stuck tones (seems to touch the tip) and as it didn't feel well in general, I bought some Rico Royal 3.
Well, they work but especially the higher notes sound dull and I often get an octave to high without pressing the octave key.

Now I thought about trying Ricos in 2 or 2.5 but also read that the tip size is pretty big for a beginner.

My question is now, especially as I'd like to concentrate on Jazz music (I read that a greater tip opening is better for this type of music), if I should look for another MPC like a Yamaha 4C or 5C or if it's better to go for other reeds in 2 or 2.5, eventually those from Légère (2 or 2,25 then).

Air pressure doesn't seem to be a problem at the moment but embochure seems to be more an issue.

Looking forward to your replies,
Thanks!

·
Registered
3,043 Posts
Mouthpieces cost a lot more than reeds, so start with reeds.

Rico Royals are excellent reeds and value for money. However 3 is too strong for a beginner: get some Rico Royal 2.5s or even 2s. Remember that reed sizes vary from manufacturer to manufacturer — for example, a Rico Royal 3 is about the same strength as a Vandoren 2.5.