Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a high school student right now, and I'm looking into different universities. My interests are divided into two distinct categories: mathematics and music. I just can't decide. A career in mathematics or science is appealing, but at the same time I love music. I am--excuse me for my pride--a genius in the field of math. I'm a good sax player, and if I start taking lessons I could truly become a great sax player. So, I was wondering are there any careers that have a cross between the sciences and music? I'm just looking to narrow down my search.

·
Just a guy who plays saxophone.
3,573 Posts
Acoustic Engineering/ design requires plenty of math and science knowledge. Everything from mouthpiece and instrument design to building theaters and performance halls...Of course you could get some skinny jeans, Chuck Taylors and eye shadow to wear while you shred some incredibly repetitive "math metal/ prog" stuff and melt some faces at the local "you have to bring your own audience AND pay to play" metal show!:mrgreen:

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
25,978 Posts
My interests are divided into two distinct categories: mathematics and music. I just can't decide. A career in mathematics or science is appealing, but at the same time I love music. I am--excuse me for my pride--a genius in the field of math. I'm a good sax player, and if I start taking lessons I could truly become a great sax player.
You have to ask yourself, would you like to be financially secure and be able to play music, or would you like to be poor and do so. It's really that simple.

Go with math and science, and leave yourself room to play music on the side.

·
Registered
506 Posts