Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in high school, and it's my first year playing the sax. That might be why. I got a new mouthpiece (Rico alto 3c) and ligature (Rovner dark 1rl). I'm having more issues than I used to, and I can make low notes with a rolled lower lip. The problem is, when I use the lower lip embouchure, my cheeks start feeling like death after a few bars. The reason I chose the Rico mpc instead of a Yamaha 4c, which is a good beginner piece, is that I play Rico reeds. The reeds and mouthpiece are the same brand, so I thought they'd match up well. I guess not. If it helps, I use a Selmer AS400 Alto.

·
Registered
3,139 Posts
The reason I chose the Rico mpc instead of a Yamaha 4c, which is a good beginner piece, is that I play Rico reeds. The reeds and mouthpiece are the same brand, so I thought they'd match up well. I guess not. If it helps, I use a Selmer AS400 Alto.
Sorry, it doesn't work like that. My guess as to why your cheeks hurt is that you have switched from a mouthpiece with a .063" tip opening to one with a .070" tip opening. Reeds that played comfortably on the Yamaha are going to feel harder and have more resistance on the Rico. My advice would be to stick with the Yamaha 4C for a while until your tone production is more established. A good exercise that helps to play the low notes is to play a G with a big full tone, and quickly slur down to low C without relaxing the embouchure. When the low C sounds, hold it as a long tone for as long as you can. Do this repeatedly. Once you have learned the "taste" of a low C, then practice starting on that note. Keeping the throat open (like the first part of a yawn) and blowing lots of air helps. The attached file contains an article by Bruce Pearson that has some information that may be helpful.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,570 Posts