Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to buy a new alto. Right now i'm trying to decide between a Yamaha 875EX and a Selmer Ref 54. I have been playing sax for about 5 years and am going into my senior year in high school this fall. I will play in college since I will be majoring in music. For now, and likely throughout college, I play alto for all legit settings. I do occasionally play jazz on alto but most of my jazz playing is done on my SX-90R tenor. Irregardless, I need a horn capable of doing both although for the next five years my alto playing likely will mostly be classical orientated.

I am searching for a very dark tone and after playing both of these horns I think they both fit the bill. The 875 felt a little more comfortable in my hands. The action was very smooth every note spoke very well. The sound was very warm. The Ref 54 had a little bit brighter sound but I think that might be because it was so much more free blowing. The low register of the horn especially had very little resistance and sang with ease. My main concern with that horn is taming it for legit playing. Can it be done? I tried out two different 54s and both had a problem with I believe the :line3: key sticking very badly. Is this a commonly known problem with the horns?