Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
878 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My main tenor was the 82z until I took it to my tech for an adjustment. While there, a blew a few Cannonballs and fell in love with a black nickle one. I've been gigging with it for 2 months and having good success. Lately, I've been fine tuning my sound for the rock, blues, and funk stuff I do. The CB is really loud but is starting to appear to be on the dark side sound-wise. I broke out the 82z the other day and blew for a couple hours and was really cutting with a brighter sound. I gigged again with it and it was great ( and so much lighter!). So now I kind of have a conundrum. Do I keep both and switch up as I feel the need? Do I go try a Selmer Ref 54 or 36 and consider trading both?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
4,881 Posts
Maybe a G3 neck on the Z will give you the flexibility you want in the Z. Ive been trying to get the best of both worlds out of one horn for a while. At the moment I am playing a Yanagisawa tenor and the Z both are great in different ways -- but a Selmer? Selmers have always played kinda dead for me.

I am in the same boat as you and don't want to keep and maintain two horns. I've acqueisced to the point where I am willing to try it with two necks -- the trouble is finding the right neck. Something to soften and darken the Z...and use the G1 when it's time for battle!

·
Forum Contributor 2017
7,484 Posts
Awwww thats a terrible position to be in.:bluewink:

Those are both fantastic horns keep them both.

B

·
Registered
777 Posts
I would recommend the Z and get a G3 neck as an addition. The G3 centers the sound and gives it a Selmer vibe. Not too dark and not too bright. Also, your mouthpiece combo will make a significant difference. The Cannonballs are nice but having owned both, I would prefer the Z.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
11,501 Posts