Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I play Selmer III tenor with a Jumbo Java T75. It sounds great, very easy to produce tone and very forgiving in the low notes.
The only problem I have is that sometimes it's just too bright. I like that when I preform, but when practicing at home I might prefer something a bit darker.

Any recommandations ?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,319 Posts
If you're looking for a Runyon, then get the SR, Finesse, or 22 model. Go to their website to see descriptions of these mouthpieces.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2008
1,497 Posts
Just my 2 cents , I'm no expert but it seems like a lot of folks spend a lot of time and money on mouthpieces . More guys are going back to rubber but most pros still play metal . I switched from a hard rubber berg to an Otto Link 27 years ago and played it for a long , long time then switched to a V16 when I needed more output for rock .

I say go with a link and if need be have it worked on . There are lots of guys who fix them up . I think Phil Barone has actually recommended doing this .

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,936 Posts
"Most pros..." Gotta love that. Can't agree with it but I gotta love it. ;)

Most blues pros? Most jazz pros? Most classical pros?

You're right, of course. They should just take all the silly hard rubber pieces off the market so people don't play the wrong material.

Back to the original poster: Why would you not practice on the 'piece you use to perform? Sure it may sound different because of your room but you need to know how it will respond in performance.

Want to work your sound? Practice outdoors when you can. You'll learn to fill your horn like never before.

·
2,069 Posts
Swingin' Cat said:
Pick up Vandoren Java T75 (not a Jumbo). It's exactly the same mpc, without the baffle.