Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
NEWBIE HERE!! Hey everybody, a great friend of mine Peter Doakly and a fantastic sax player died about three years ago of throat cancer. He played the sax for about 40 years and as long as I knew him, he would roar a lot. I am not talking about humming in key to produce a slightly rough sound in the upper register I am talkig a bout a growl in the throat. I can do it but it is very irritating. I never knew him to be a smoker. It may be possible he was in his youth. Any of you players doctors? Think it is possible the cancer resulted from years of stress to the throat from growling????? Just a hunch!!!

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
Plain "No".
Perhaps it was the smoke in all the clubs he played. Even rock singers don´t get cancer from singing-only singers knots on their vocal cords.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2011
1,033 Posts
Second opinion: Plain "No". I'll go with the smoke in most cases.

·
Banned
624 Posts
rawrrr:cat: do not be afraid rawrrring is a perfectly safe thing to do around friends :) :cat:

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,313 Posts
Probably not cancer, but serious vocal nodes, yes. Ned Rothenberg had to have surgery for it. Growling (which I do all the time, mind you) slaps your vocal chords around badly, and causes scar tissue to build up. In an extreme case, I could imagine such damage ceding to opportunistic disease like metasticized cancer, but again, this seems unlikely. Talk to your doctor if you're concerned, and do a little research on "vocal nodes".

·
Banned
624 Posts
Jason DuMars said: