Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I posted a little while ago about a problem where I was hitting the overtone rather than the fundamental when playing low G and low F#. Thanks to the advice here I had my sax checked out and all seems ok there so it must be me.

I'm finding the problem doesn't occur when I first start playing but after about 15 to 20 mins. Could it be that after 20 mins my embouchure is tired and that causes me to bite and hence create the problem with these notes?

The other thing I am wondering is if it could be an air support thing. I find (particularly on those notes) that if I begin the note slowly (or weakly?) the note begins playing on the octave up and then drops back to the fundamental once more air support is there. So could my air support be tired after 20 mins of playing?

I've been playing for about 4 months now, on and off about every second night. Any further advice on this continuing problem would be greatly appreciated!

Best always
Greg.

PS. I tried mouthpiece only and was able to get Db albeit it in a wavering sort of way. So I thought that was an indicator that my embouchure pressure was ok on a sop mouthpiece.

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
that d flat is your core tone frequency on the soprano. try mouthpiece only for a week with the goal to hold that d flat soft and gradually crescendo to loud and back down, then blow your horn.you will notice a tremendous difference in your tone and control.

·
Registered
977 Posts
Since noone else is offering anything,,,,The fact that you're playing an octave up, without meaning to, you are either biting or focusing your airstream very tight. The main reason, I think, for biting, is too soft a reed. If you think you can move up in reed strength, try that.

·
Banned
5,336 Posts