Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I'm new to SOTW & to playing(wish I'd started 7 years ago when I 1st thought about it(in fact I wish I'd started when I was a kid)) anyway, I bought a good quality Elkhart which I believe is a Elkhart SXTD Deluxe Tenor Sax. Thing is I can't find any history about it other than it being sold from a shop in Mold, Wales and being distributed by Vincent Bach about 12 years ago. Serial number is 6082229, but that's all I can find.
HELP!!

Many thanks for any info you can provide.

Mike

·
Registered
528 Posts
Have you had a look in http://saxpics.com/?v=info&p=stencil as a starting point?
I see Elkhart being made by both Beuscher and Conn at some point. A cursory glance through the Serial Number list(s) leads me to wonder if you have an extra digit in there... :dontknow:

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,960 Posts
A pic would be mighty helpful too...or two or three.....

...the thing is, the Elkhart name got bought sometime ago...have no idea if this was 2 years ago or fifteen....and they are now just sorta crappy asian-produced horns....just to add to the general confusion.....

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts
That serial number, even removing a digit, and a Vintage Elkhart made by either Buescher or Conn are non-sequitors. You will find vintage Elkharts with 5-digit serial numbers, but I suspect this sax might be of Chinese, Taiwanese, or Japanese origin, not US -- particularly given that the OP thinks it was new 12 years ago.

Have a picture of it you can share?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
Hold the fort.....