1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,963 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,808 Posts
Hmm. Well, if it's actually a Conn stencil and it's freshly overhauled & ready to play, $600 or so (where it is as of this post) isn't a bad deal.

But I'm not sure it's a Conn. Doesn't have the "Mercedes" low C key guard; the bottom bow guard isn't your standard Conn-style guard; the G# cluster looks like a cross between an early Buescher or Martin cluster and Conn. But then the Alt. F# key looks like those on pre-Ladyface Conn horns. Conn was putting front-F keys on their horns starting in the early 20's, so that doesn't fit either; though whoever ordered the stencil may have had it left off to save on the cost of manufacture. Anyway, I'm not sold on it as a Conn, but I'm not an expert on their stencils by any means.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,030 Posts
All of the Cont Col saxes I have seen were Conns. Still way too much for a stencil of anything! Pan-Ams didn't have the front F on many and I would put this one at 1935-50.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,808 Posts
All of the Cont Col saxes I have seen were Conns. Still way too much for a stencil of anything! Pan-Ams didn't have the front F on many and I would put this one at 1935-50.
Re: my earlier comment -- yeah on eBay it's too much. You walked into a store and it was perfectly set up & you liked it, sure.

Have you ever seen that double-ridge bow guard thing on Conn stencils?