Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Rampone & Cazzani C Melody sax, I don't know the year but under the name there is the following - "C.L.P 2698". I am a novice player and I saw her at a car boot sale, took her into our local music shop and had her re-padded. Using a tenor mouthpiece I can get a nice sound, she has a rough jazz sound that I was looking for when I started playing.

Does anyone know what year it was built in?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member and Champion of the C-Me
2,057 Posts
ukebert said:
I had no idea that R&C even made Cmels.
Neither did I - I'm going to need a new entry on my "manufacturers" page - and hopefully a couple of photo's might magically appear (hint, hint....)

Ian, probably early 1900's, could even have been bought in from (e.g.) Buffet, it would be easier to identify any possibilities with some pics - pity Sheffield is so far from Dorset, I'd love to take a look at it.

R & C seem approachable, they have gone through some changes so may not have all the records, but this is a link to their English 'contact us' page.

Good Luck, Alan.

P.S. Ian - welcome to Sax On The Web ! :)

·
Registered
391 Posts
Would also love to hear your comments about the tone of the R&C Cmel in comparison to other CMel saxes, if you have had an opportunity to compare ...

W.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
6,715 Posts
R&C did indeed make C Melodys, although I have never played one. Without doubt it was made in the 1920s. Claudio Zolla at R&C is the most helpful chap; why not email him. From what I have heard their C Mel was not up to the excellent standard of their modern horns...but I am a sucker for R&C horns, I would love to hear it. Does it have front aux F?

·
6,715 Posts
Alan...To the best of my knowledge Rampone & Cazzani never bought in; in fact they seem to have made stencils named Jedson. I have a very early R&C tenor which is engraved "Jedson, made by Rampone & Cazzani. Milan.

·