Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody, I'm a young sax player (i'm 16 years old) and i want to play music for a living a little later on in life. THis got me thinking-exactly what did all of you pro players practice over the years to get to where you are currently, and are getting lots of gigs?

thanks,
michael

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009
7,921 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for that guys, really good stuff in those threads. if theres anyone else who can help out here, please do! i'll be super grateful!

·
Grafton + TH & C alto || Naked Lady 10M || TT soprano || Martin Comm III
30,102 Posts
The most important thing for me was long notes, tonal effects, blues and rock and roll. Plus learning to read, arrange and compose, learn lots of tunes and aural training.

For a while I practised some jazz patterns and licks, but soon realised if I wanted to be professional,that wasn't going to get me as far as the other stuff, and it has probably been the best advice I got.

·
SOTW Member
3,394 Posts
Major scales, playing all 12 fluently is essential..add your diminished and whole tone scales, as you must know these as well..when playing standards or jazz tunes learn and play the melody first..when improvising do not think, just play..and don't ever forget, long tones with controlled or no vibrato is a must for good tone.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hey again guys, hate to be annoying, but can we please get some more posters here coz I'd love to get more help and advice.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,149 Posts
Play major scales in all configurations(thirds, triads, sevenths, intervals, etc). It is one of the most basic ways of ear training. Then play the same ideas in melodic, harmonic, diminished, and any other scale that you can discover.

·
Registered
4,140 Posts