Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I've played guitar for nearly 30 years, but I'm new to sax. I've been playing for a month on a borrowed sax, and I've been making good strides. Unfortunately, my local tech and my teacher both agree that the sax isn't going to last very long; it needs much more work than it's worth. I'm looking to buy my first sax, but I want one that will last a long time.

I think I've narrowed it down to a few:
One is a Yanagisawa 900 Series. It has a good bit of lacquer missing, but no dents. It's listed without a mouthpiece for $1200.

The second is a Yamaha YAS-52. I've found a few of these options. One is in "flawless condition" for $1000. I have found another in very good condition with a Meyer 5 mouthpiece for $800. The third of the 52's I found was listed in good condition with a Selmer C* mouthpiece for $950.

The third (admittedly, it's a bit of a long shot) is a Theo Wanna Shakita prototype (it doesn't have the model name engraved on it). It's in great condition for $1000.

The Yanagisawa and the $800 Yamaha have 30-day return policies; the others come as-is. I'm leaning toward the two with return policies, but which one? Is the Yanagisawa that much better an option? Is the Selmer mouthpiece worth that much more than the Meyer? Which would you choose?

Thank you for your help.

·
Banned
2,844 Posts
Play condition would be the deciding factor for me. The 900 sounds like a good deal. The mint Yamaha 52 will always be worth a grand if you keep it that way. Neither of those mouthpieces are that great. They should not affect your decision.

·
Registered
109 Posts