Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This forum is crazy huge, and I hope that I learn a think or two from all of you guys. Anyways, I joined to ask a bit of advice, since I find it quite difficult to find solid information on purchasing tenor saxophone mouthpieces on the web. I've been playing the tenor since March of 2012, and I've just picked up the baritone in October, so I feel fairly confident to experiment. I'm looking for a unique tone and outlook to my tenor sax playing, and I was wondering if you could help.

About two years ago I was given a 1977 Selmer Bundy II saxophone by a friend who had permanently switched to baritone, and felt bad leaving his old tenor in storage. It came with his plastic mouthpiece, and the mouthpiece definitely shows some pretty heavy wear and scarring. However, I'm fairly pleased with warm, cool tone of my saxophone, but another year with this mouthpiece and it's threatening to explode in my face. I thought I might as well look for something more permanent at this point.

I'm looking for something in the general sound of:

* Warm, round tone to compliment my model. (I've heard hard rubber is a good choice for this.)
* I'd like a run down on sizing of mouthpieces. (I've played a jazz alto piece with a larger tip, but it beats me on what I should go for here.)
* Brand options. (Ottolink and Vandoren Paris come up a lot, but I'd love to hear your experience!)

This is my first time purchasing a saxophone mouthpiece on my own, and I've only been able to scratch up a little information on what I might want. I'm still blurry on what I should be expecting, and I would very much appreciate all the advice you can give to a beginner buyer. :mrgreen:

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,382 Posts
Try as many as you can, and look for a comfortable one that you feel flexible.

·
Registered
125 Posts