Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
7,356 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got the news that my girlfriend is pregnant. We're keeping it.

I'm very excited and even more scared.

Is 23 too young to have a kid?

A lot of people have been very skeptical because we've had devious pasts and are relatively poor in the grand scheme. Saying everything wrong with having it doesn't help anything when we're solid on having it.

Just as many people are pretty supportive though.

My day job is playing sax. So, I'm not super worried about it ruining my career just yet.

My girlfriend is really excited to be raising a child around music. Who knows? Maybe it'll grow to be an "even littler wailer".

Now I just gotta tell my mom...

·
Grafton + TH & C alto || Naked Lady 10M || TT soprano || Martin Comm III
30,102 Posts
Is 23 too young to have a kid?
No

My day job is playing sax.
That's good, you'll have plenty of time at night to help out with the feeding etc.

Congrats.

My son has (so far) turned out not to be a wailer (well, not in the saxophone sense), but has his sights set on being a footballer. It's quite common for children not to follow in daddy's or mummy's footsteps.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,365 Posts
Congratulations! Its a great adventure...

·
Forum Contributor 2010-2016
1,708 Posts
Congratulations. Enjoy your kid but don't stress when he/she doesn't take an interest in what you do. But make sure you take an interest in what he/she likes. That is until he/she gets to a certain age when showing an interest will be seen as extremely annoying.

·
Forum Contributor 2012, SOTW Saxophone Whisperer,
3,233 Posts
People who are "better off" than you AND "worse off" than you have been both Better and Worse Parents than you will be.

Same can be said about those older and younger.

Parenting has nothing to do with your day job. It has everything to do with how much you love your family.

·