Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just started playing Tenor in a big band after playing Alto for many years. Going well thus far, except for a strange problem. After playing for about 10-15 minutes, I start to have some strange problems with my tone. The notes are an octave higher than they should be, and I get a buffeting sound that almost sounds like a "growl." My first thought was that I was simply not putting enough air through the horn, since my lungs were used to playing Alto. However, I recently noticed that changing to a new reed temporally solves problem, though the problem reoccurs after another 10-15 minutes. I can get some reprieve by taking in more of the mouthpiece into my mouth, but this causes other issues. Since a new reed seems to fix the problem, I don't think the horn has a mechanical problem. I also believe that I am getting enough air through the horn.

I am using a Vandoren T55 Jumbo Java mouthpiece, and Rico Select Jazz 3 Medium reeds (filed, if that matters.) Would a harder or softer reed, or a different type of reed address the issue?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
38 Posts
Either your octave key is messed up (check octave G as well) or more likely your way to tight around your mouthpiece and need to loosen up

Don't take more mouthpiece or try to correct it with new reeds, mouthpieces, etc.
It's almost always because higher sax players sometimes need a tighter embouchure which backfires with lower horns

Hope this helps,

Andrew

·
Registered
4,428 Posts
I mainly play alto.
When I get the tenor out not only is it heavier but takes more air (typical issues).
I don't have the octave jumping problem.
I've been lucky with reed swelling distortion, but worse with tenor reeds.

·
Registered
457 Posts
Sounds like an embouchure issue to me, although the 10 minute time thing does smack of reed issues.
Are you smoothing/flattening the back of your reeds at all?