Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear All,

I am a beginner sax-player.
I bought yesterday for 912 USD a Buesher tenor elkhart indiana, serial 69476 30A.
It is totaly repadded and properly adjusted.
I fitted it up with a Otto Link 6.

Who can tell me if this a proper deal?
From which year is this sax?

Kind regards,

Pieter Berghuis.

·
Registered
134 Posts
I think it´s a fair deal.
If it is the first time you play the saxophone an Otto Link 6 sound´s a little open to me, or just play it with a soft reed...

Not so sure about the serial Nr, because (Correct me if mistaken) Buescher used to make the saxophones for Elkhart and I can´t find a serial chart on Elkhart.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,034 Posts
Although it is not a regular Buescher, these can be decent players. This one is from about 1940-55 and was a lower line horn they made to compete with the Pan-American line that Conn had. That price seems quite high to me and I would say it is worth about $600 in good playing condition.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
1,127 Posts
Dear Bruce,

On http://drrick.com/buesc.html, I find for this serial nmbr a approx. year of 1921.

What makes the difference?
While the sax was made by Buescher, Buescher serial numbers do not correspond to "The Elkhart" serial numbers. So yours is most definitely not from 1921.

I have to agree that a price over 900USD is a bit on the high side...for here. But from the address of the pictures, I'm guessing you're from the Netherlands? In which case, the price might be considered more reasonable there. Honestly I don't know the market for stenciled/2nd line horns abroad.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the reply.
Is there anywere a listing of The Elkhart serial numbers?