Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hello, how are you!!

I´ve been playing the saxophone for 13 years now but I have no real experience with Buescher sax and I have been offered a 1939 alto Aristocrat that is in awsome shape but I have a few questions I would like to ask you before I pull the trigger.

- I guess a 1939 Aristocrat is a series I? Isn´t it?
- How do you compare it to the Big B?
- What are the mail differences regarding the keywork compared to the Big B and to modern horns (ref 54, SX90R, CustomZ)

Thank you very much and congrats on this valuable source!

Ian

Hi, I´m new to this forum and let me tell you that I have found some great info here!!.

I posted a similar question in another subforum but I guess this is the right place (sorry admins, will pay more attention next time :) )

Although I´ve playing sax for 13 years, I have no real first hand experience with Bueschers. I´ve been offered a 1939 Artistocrat that is in great shape and I have the following doubts:

- Is it a series I ?
- How do you compare this horn with the Big B in terms of sound and keywork
- What are the main differences regarding the keywork compared to a modern horns such as the Selmer ref. 54 or JK SX90 for example

Thank you for your time,

Ian

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
3,240 Posts
Art deco keyguards=series 1 , ribbon guards and its a big B thou the first big B's were series 1's.
The keywork is very good but you will need to get use to it as in any horn
Dave

·
Banned
2,206 Posts
The bell flare on that sax will be smaller than a Big B, which gives the sax a punchier, more focused sound. The keywork on the old Aristocrats is not as ergonomic as on modern horns, but is among the best of the vintage horns. I never found the left-hand spatula to be tight like some have claimed. Those are nice horns with a very sweet, focused sound. Think Johnny Hodges (that's the model he played).