Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there forums, I'm quite new to these and I'm looking for help in purchasing a saxophone. The saxophone is a Buescher 400, as stated in the title, and I think it's from 1963, but I'm not the best at identifying from SN's. It's being sold by a local buyer in my area, heres the link, http://baltimore.craigslist.org/msg/2159617443.html

So, first off, was I correct about the year it was built in? Second, in the description, it says it is not a top hat and cane model. I've played a 1923 top hat and cane and I would like to know how different these would preform? I'm really just looking for a step up sax from my student level yamaha. Next, if I was to buy it, would that price be ripping me off? I've seen a few on eBay for around 850-1,000, this one is 700. It seem's a pretty decent price for the model. Lastly, he's allowing people to test it out. I'm not the best at saxophone and I would really like some advice on what to look for when I do try it out. What kind of nuances should be very noticeable and what kind of pros and cons should be found in this model. I'm hoping there is someone on these forums that owns a model the same as this and could tell me what to look out for. Thanks for your help, so far these forums have been great,

·
Indistinguishable Resident Buescher Bigot and Foru
8,588 Posts
Hmm... There was no Buescher 400 in 1923, much less one that had the Top Hat & Cane engraving... What horn from 1923 have you played?

There are no pictures on the Craigslist site, so it's hard to determine condition, much less value. Maybe a trip to http://www.saxpics.com is in order.

For a later "400" in playing condition, this is generally a right-ish price, but could be cheap or expensive given the condition. A 381,xxx horn was built after the Selmer USA buyout, but just. It's generally considered a Buescher horn, and you won't be unhappy with it if it's a player.

·
Registered