Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a high school student and I've been playing the tenor saxophone for four years now.
I had a David Hite mouthpiece, but it cracked during marching season so I'm looking for a new one. I want a versatile, good all-round mouthpiece that will accommodate the music in concert band and jazz band (marching band I don't really care). I'm looking for good dynamic control, good tone, etc.
I've never heard a Meyer before, but my band teacher they're really easy to blow (no dirty minds please), and I'd probably want a 5M or 6M if I get one.
My private teacher suggested to get a Brilhart Ebolin hard rubber, saying it has great tone, and is quite versatile.
So here are my questions:
1. Which do you prefer?
2. Could ya'll detail each brand?
3. Are all Brilhart Ebolins hard rubber? Woodwinds and Brasswinds doesn't specify.

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
I played the Brilhart in high school and it was an excellent mouthpiece. I have owned a vintage HR Meyer Bros. NY and it played quite well - the tip just wasn't open enough for me so I sold it. As far as modern Meyers go, I think that they are fine for tenor, but I would opt for the Brilhart, personally. Your teacher is spot on. A metal lig might give you a bit more brightness in the sound if you want it.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So what model of Brilhart would you recommend? There's like 3* 4* 5* and stuff. Would the one closest to a .80 facing have a good balance of a sound (between bright or warm)?

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
I think that a facing close to .080 is good. I'm not sure that a wider tip would be much brighter and they're harder to control.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,075 Posts