Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,655 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Who makes the best ones for less than $100? Your informed opinions please...?
And, if getting better heads is worth doing, to make cheaper bongos play better, I'd appreciate info like that.
I'm a beginner who wants to eventually double on them, say, after I'm done playing a few sax choruses and somebody else is playing...

Thanks in advance!

PS: I destroyed a cheap set of bongos trying to get the natural skin heads to come up to the pitches that I heard Jack Costanzo or someone like that recommend... Was that because it was the wrong heads, or because the rings that hold the heads on were cheap? The rings got all deformed before I noticed what I was doing... and I never did bring the pitch up high enough for that "snap" I was trying to get.

·
Registered
1,093 Posts
I don’t know what the current offerings are, but some years ago when I bought bongos for my daughter, I got a pair made by LP for Musicians Friend. The particular model had some very good features and wasn’t available elsewhere. I’m still using them. (Daughter almost never used them, and now now longer even plays drums.)

So check out the MF and Sweetwater, etc and see if there is something similar currently available.

Wait, I just did, and the ones I got are still available, although they cost $200 now I see:

https://www.musiciansfriend.com/dru...os-with-chrome-hardware?rNtt=LP bongo&index=5

Or try the aspire line from LP. Or their middle level Matador line.
And I see now an even lower level: city.
Lpmusic.com

·
Registered
1,655 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey thanks. Those look pretty nice.
I think the reason the tuning rings deformed on mine is that the bongos cost about $39.
Hopefully these would allow me to come up to the right pitch.

·
Registered
1,569 Posts