Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm really frustrated right now. I've been playing alto sax for eight years; and I've never had a teacher get really in-depth about things.
I don't have a set warm-up routine. I know I have to do long tones, but I don't know exactly what exercises to do. I'm unbelievably busy and only have time for a half hour to a little over an hour a day, but I need core exercises to work on.
My tone's a little whiny. I use Rico 3 reeds, a Rovner dark lig, and an E. Rousseau NC4 mouthpiece on a YAS-23. I think part of the problem is that I have a bad habit of biting, but I don't know how to get out of that habit. I know long tones will help this, but... see above paragraph.

Also, on a side note, sometimes when I'm playing, my sax does this thing where it'll break into this weird sort of groaning growl thing. It usually does it when I go from any note above D (on the staff) to a high G, or sometimes an A. I don't know why it does that, and I've tried changing my embouchure and airstream to fix it, which hasn't worked. Does anyone know what could be going on?

·
Registered
107 Posts