Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

Sorry to ask a question so soon after signing up, but I really need the help! I've been reading the forum for a long time and have always found it very helpful.

I've been playing for 8 years with some success, mostly semi professionally. A couple of years I stopped playing and switched instruments since I'm also a basssist. I'd really like to get back to sax playing but there is one big problem that keeps getting in the way.

I had some shoddy dental work done when I was a kid and it has left me with front teeth that are not completely centred with my lips. It's not particularly obvious to an observer but it does mean that the mouthpiece doesn't enter into the centre of my mouth, and hence the tongue does not evenly make contact with the reed. Coupled with that the one front tooth is imperceptibly longer than the other, which results in the mouthpiece entering at a slightly oblique angle. In summary: off centre and not horizontal.

This may seem a bit obsessional but the reason I mention this is that even though I'm happy with my playing in all areas, the thing that has always stung me is tonguing and articulation. However much I practice it I just can't tongue accurate swung eighths, which makes a lot of jazz playing very difficult, especially at higher tempos. So when I play faster tunes it ends up sounding a legato mess because my tongue can't keep up.

Another thing that maybe relevant is the choice of mouthpiece - I've been playing a meyer 5 since I started and have gradually moved up reed strengths until now I play 3.5/4. Would my problems be alleviated by a different mouthpiece? I was thinking a Selmer Super Session F with thinner reeds?

Any advice would be really highly appreciated!

Thanks,

John

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·