Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm really new to jazz, so please excuse me if i sound ignorant, cause i am.

It seems to me that when playing jazz, everything you learn is bebop bebop bebop. Everyone is trying to sound just like Trane or Bird, or whoever.
I really love all that, and i know that so much of what happened in that era was groundbreaking and amazing, but that was like 50 years ago.

So basically what im saying is whats happening now? I know that since then jazz fusion and smooth jazz have emerged, but neither of those really do it for me. What/who is the leading edge in jazz today?

Sorry if this is just a dumb post...

·
Registered
4,525 Posts
Not a dumb post at all. A lot of people have a hard time seeing past the 50s when it comes to jazz. I would suggest exploring the e-music jazz section for some ideas.

The thing is, jazz is so much more fragmented than in the past. So I don't think you can really name one or two people who are the leading edge. There are probably hundreds who are leading edge in various off-shoots of jazz.

I personally am no expert, this is just what I have observed over the past few years of exploring this music.

·
SOTW Administrator
26,215 Posts
Post bop, Heavy Metal BeBop, bop resurgence?

Seriouly, if you can play bebop, you can probably play any style. It's really difficult.

·
Heterodox nonconformist
403 Posts
OR you could always just check out Ornette Coleman. He was really different...

(I love that guy.)

·
Registered
320 Posts
My teacher always tells me that if I/you/someone is a good bebop and has some skills and knowledge about classical music (=> sight reeding and dynamics) you'll be able to play any stile of music quite easy....

Maybe he is right :)

·
Distinguished SOTW member, musician, technician &
5,017 Posts
hakukani said:
Seriouly, if you can play bebop, you can probably play any style. It's really difficult.