Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,
Ive been playing Tenor for about 6 months now, but ive decided to try an Alto too. Ive got a very very very old Conn im using as a project horn (1924), but id like a vintage alto preferably with the more "updated" keywork as a player, in the $600 or so range. Is there anything that wouldnt require work that someone could reccomend that usually goes for around that much? Or am I pretty much stuck with a YAS-23 or a Bundy for that amount in that condition? Oh and it doesnt neccessarily HAVE to be Vintage, the local tech praises vintage horns so its rubbed off on me :)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
Vintage saxophones have a certain cachet that the modern horns don't enjoy. I have both vintage and modern in soprano and alto.

I think the Buescher Aristocrats and 400 models would suit a beginner just fine. I've never played a Conn with intonation equal to Bueschers, but recognize many like their old Conns. And Conns generally have a huge voice.

I don't think the ergos matter all that much, especially for a beginner. A beginner will learn to play whatever horn is provided as long as the horn is tight and has a decent scale. I get along just fine with my 1920's Buescher TT's, 1940's Big B and early 1950's 400 TH&C; and just as well with my modern saxophones. DAVE

·
Registered
1,293 Posts
I agree with Dave, but would add the TrueTone for alto. Later serial numbers are preferred (190K onwards). The TT would be a much cheaper option.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013-
5,183 Posts